What the Parish Council does

What is Otterhampton Parish Council?

  • It is the first tier of local government.
  • It is an elected body with tax raising powers (known as the precept).
  • It represents the villages of Combwich, Otterhampton and Steart (the latter being a separate ward electing one member to the council).

7 councillors represent the parish and they have a four year term of office.  The council is elected en bloc every 4 years – the last time was May 2019.

The next election will be in May 2023. If you are interested in becoming a parish councillor please contact the clerk or one of the other councillors for more information.

The parish council is served by an appointed Parish Clerk, who is responsible for calling meetings, preparing the agenda in consultation with the chair person and writing the minutes of the meetings and dealing with correspondence etc. The current Clerk is Aly Prowse telephone 01278 652426.

The council is concerned with routine matters such as the children’s playground, grass cutting (except the main part of the common which is done by OPRA), the village gardener, notice boards, benches , dog bins, some path and road maintenance etc.

The last major project was the creation of a new play area in Combwich

Welcome to the website for Combwich, Otterhampton and Steart